
Driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs – PENALTIES 
61-8-401 and 61-8-406, Montana Code Annotated 

 
 
A blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more constitutes driving under the influence, 
however, a driver may be charged with DUI if he/she had a BAC level over 0.04 and there is also sufficient 
evidence of impaired ability to operate a motor vehicle. 
 
Penalties for DUI 
(MCA 61-8-401) 1st conviction 2nd conviction 3rd conviction 

Jail1 24 hrs – 6 months 7 days – 6 months 30 days  – 1 year 
Fine2 

(note:  fine amount doesn’t include court costs) 
fine of $300 – $1000 fine of $600 – $1000 fine of $1000 – $5000 

Underage passengers2 fine of $600 – $2000 
jail 48 hours – 12 months 

fine of $1200 – $2000 
jail 14 days – 12 months 

fine of $2000 – $10000 
jail  60 days – 12 months 

Drivers license suspended for 6 months 

suspended for 1 year suspended for 1 year 
If the 1-year suspension period passes and the person has not completed a chemical dependency education 

course, treatment, or both, as ordered by the sentencing court, the license suspension remains in effect 

until the course, treatment, or both, are completed. 

Driver record 

10 points added 10 points added 10 points added 
Note: 10 points are added to the driver license record for each DUI conviction.  A person who accumulates 30 or more conviction points (from DUI and/or other 

traffic violations) within a three-year period may be declared a "habitual traffic offender" by the Montana Department of Justice.  If so designated, the individual’s 

driver's license or driving privilege is revoked for 3 years. 

A DUI now stays on a driver’s record for life. 

Probationary drivers license 

May be issued upon payment 
of $200 driver license 
reinstatement fee, sign off by 
Judge, and completion of 
A.C.T. program. 

New law passed in 2009 (HB 536) – interpretation pending from 
Department of Justice and Montana Supreme Court.  Applies 
only to 2nd/3rd DUI offenses committed on/after October 1, 
2009. Note:  if the driver refused to blow into a breath 

testing device and/or provide a blood sample, no 

restricted probationary license is allowed. 

Probation Up to six months 
1 year of monitoring beginning 
with date of admission to 
A.C.T. program 

1 year of monitoring beginning 
with date of admission to 
A.C.T. program 

Ignition interlock 

interlock may be ordered – at 
judge’s discretion 

may only drive vehicle with 
interlock for 12 months 
beginning with end of driver 
license revocation period 
(pending interpretation of HB 536) 

may only drive vehicle with 
interlock for 12 months 
beginning with end of driver 
license revocation period 
(pending interpretation of HB 536) 

If an ignition interlock is ordered, the offender is required to pay all costs associated with 
installation, lease, and maintenance. 
As an alternative to the ignition interlock, the judge may order every vehicle owned by the 
offender to be seized and forfeited. 

A.C.T. program 
 
 

A = assessment for chemical 
dependency 
C = education course 
T = chemical dependency treatment 

Following conviction, all DUI offenders are court-ordered to receive a mandatory alcohol 
assessment to determine the nature and extent of their alcohol problems.   
• Assessments are conducted by licensed addiction counselors (LACs) who are part of a DPHHS-
approved chemical dependency treatment program. 
• Treatment for repeat offenders is mandatory on a 2nd and 3rd offenses, but may be ordered for 
a first-time offender if he/she is found to be chemically dependent by an LAC.  The treatment 
program is followed by monthly monitoring for at least one year from the date of admission to the 
program. 
• All offenders are required to attend an 8-hour chemical dependency education course (must be 
at a DPHHS-approved program). 
• If the offender fails to attend the education course or treatment program, the counselor notifies 
the court. 
• Offenders failing to comply with the terms of their program are not eligible for driver license 
reinstatement and may be returned to the court for further action. 

 

                                                 
1 Incarceration time usually includes combination of mandatory jail time and home arrest. 
2 Fines and jail time double (up to one year maximum) if passengers under age 16 are in the vehicle at the time of the offense. 


